By Royal Appointment: Series Review Update

This brings us to the last week of my Series Review Update, as I’ve decided to hold off on Julie Anne Long’s Pennyroyal Green series for now. (Mostly because there are so darn many of them.) I’ll be wrapping the romance novels up with Eloisa James’s Fairy Tales series.

Eloisa James’s A Kiss at Midnight was my introduction to the wonderful world of Regency romance. I will read just about any fairy tale retelling ever (my one true weakness) and it was available as a Kindle Daily Deal, so I gave it a shot. I fell in instant, passionate love. It was the first romance novel I’d read with sex scenes that seemed realistically sexy. And it was so darn funny. Not quite Jennifer Crusie levels of funny, but hilarious.

In “real life,” Eloisa James is actually Mary Bly, a Harvard/Yale/Oxford-educated academic who is a professor of English literature at Fordham University in New York City. Her husband, who is from Italy, is a professor of Italian literature and a bona fide knight. They spent a year on sabbatical in Paris, which she wrote about it the delightful memoir Paris in Love. It is, of course, fabulous. It’s basically a love letter to my favorite city in the world.

After I wrap up the Fairy Tales series, I’ll be back with a review of Paris in Love and the novella Seduced by a Pirate (as I didn’t have strong feelings about any of the other novellas, all three of which I read in August). Then we’re back to our regularly scheduled program of YA fantasy lit, with some Nora Roberts thrown in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

